Wild Shisa in the streets of Okinawa

A Bit About Me

Aloha everyone.  My name is Dana and I was born and raised on the North Shore of Oahu.  I’m a Kahuku graduate (Red Raiders 4 Life), teacher (Kanoelani Elementary school)  and current graduate student (Ed Tech).  I grew up riding horses, which spurred my travel bug at a young age, and led me to a job in France at one point.  I’m also passionate about food which fueled my travels when horses wouldn’t and sent me around the globe backpacking a few years back.  Being half Japanese encouraged me to teach Engrish in Japan for a year (along with a strong desire to eat my way through the country).  Currently, I’m back in Hawaii and into swimming, hiking, a bit of horsing, but mostly just general enjoying of being home with family and friends again.

On Why I’m Taking This Class-

First of all,  I’m taking this class because it works towards my COLT (Certificate in Online Learning & Teaching) certificate, credit requirements for graduation and was offered during summer.  HOWEVER, I have also heard only good things about Dr. Kimura and his classes.  And finally, I’m fairly inept in the effective use of social media (and technology in general).  I’m not the worst person on the planet, I can manage it all if I need to, but it’s always been on a very surface level.  I’m guilty of being more of the consumer than and active participant when it comes to online participation.  I definitely see the potential it has to change society and know it’s not going anywhere soon, so I figure I might as well learn a bit more.

This blog will attempt to document some of this new journey.