Summer school classes go by fast, and with a class that makes use of Facebook, Twitter, blogs and more for assignments and staying informed it can feel like it’s going in warp speed.  Especially because I’ve never been too active with social media.  Do I like every comment?  Respond to every post?  Tweet, re-tweet, tweet-tweet?  And then blog about it all?  It feels like a lot.  And it is a lot.  The internet is a lot.  There’s a lot of information out there, and I’m beginning to realizing that learning how to navigate this class is a lot like learning how to navigate the internet.  You have to be focused, yet aware of what’s going on around you, as you never know when a good bit of info, new idea or the next big thing comes by.  And that’s just the social media aspect of class.  

The readings have been thought-provoking.  They are lengthy, but I’m compelled to read it all.  Exploring the birth of hyperlinks and the World Wide Web, thinking about information sharing, patents and online collaboration, investigating my own online habits, and remembering to breathe!  I really enjoyed Rheingold’s sections on mindfulness and training the puppy.  The digital world can be overwhelming.  It’s important to think about how you use and want to use it.  It’s easy to get distracted, our minds wander naturally.  (I really liked when he used the example of closing your eyes and having your thoughts jump from one to another.)  So knowing that you are going to get distracted, and knowing that it’s okay, but remembering to come back to your focus and intentions is key to staying efficient and effective in not just your use of time online but in life.  And remember to breathe (online and in life).

Our group assignments have proved to be interesting as well.  Group assignments by nature can be tricky, with different interest, working styles and availability, it can be hard to make it all come together.  Yet group assignments can also be god-sends, with shared workloads, different viewpoints and added motivators.  Before starting my masters program I would have said I prefered individual assignments to group ones, but now, under normal circumstances, I’d choose to work in a group rather than not.  With the exception of having really tight deadlines, I’ve really appreciated having my groups to work in.  Sharing the work and exploring different viewpoints and technologies have been some of the highlights.  

It’s been a fast 2 weeks, interesting, but fast.  I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t hoping the ride would slow down, but I’m thinking I better get better at this whole focusing thing.  And of course remembering to breathe.  Image

My offline place for mindfulness and breathing.